The 1866 Old School House (The Douglas Union School), is now in the possession of the Saugatuck-Douglas Historical Society. This stately national landmark is the oldest multi-classroom school building in Michigan and one of the finest examples of 19th century school architecture in America. Along with its six city lots of lawn and woods, it has been transformed into a "History Center" where Saugatuck-Douglas citizens and visitors can benefit in a multitude of ways from the area's rich history and culture. It is also home to the Gallinipper a restored 26-foot iron rescue boat, the centerpiece of a new boathouse exhibit on the grounds of the Old School House.
735 Park Street
Phone: (269) 857-7900